It’s Snowing! (Alternate Title: It’s OK Not to Be Perfect)

Standard

A few weeks ago, I purchased the Tamara LaPorte (Williwing.org) Mini-workshop: A Christmas Whimsy.  I started it and then stopped.  I was frustrated that the canvas wasn’t turning out the way that Tam’s was.  Yesterday, I went back to it with a new attitude.  It’s ok to be me. It’s ok not to be perfect. It’s ok that my canvas does not look like hers!  We have different styles, and gifts.

Image

That’s a lesson that I’ve been trying to teach myself lately.  That it is OK:

OK to be a little weird

OK not to be liked by everyone

OK that my art looks different

OK that things aren’t perfect

OK to be me.

It may seem like a simple lesson, but, trust me.  It has not been an easy one for me.  I have always been held up to standards that I couldn’t measure up to.  I’ve always done things just a little bit different and then felt like such a failure for not coming through.  It’s a large reason why I don’t talk much to my mother’s side of the family anymore.  I’m not them.  I don’t do things like them and I was always being berrated for it.  A few years ago, I made peace with that and starting living my own life..but again, I fell short.  I didn’t practice this new-found belief in other areas of my life: the house, my work, my relationships with others.  Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been able to let go and be at peace with being me and being different.  Things don’t have to be perfect..they just have to be perfect for me and that is OK.

Until next time..

Sue

About Irreversibly Moi

I'm a 40-something mom of two amazing almost-grown boys. Life post-divorce, pre doing the whole marriage thing again. I work for myself consulting in Human Resources and run a small manufacturing company that creates wood items and books for the art industry. I love animals (have 3 dogs and 4 cats and feed a myriad of strays on a daily basis). I love Jesus and, after being raised Catholic, was rebabtized as an adult, but we don't hang out as much as we used to (my fault). I started this blog to give me an outlet to express myself, my art, my passions and my opinions - not necessarily in that order.

One response »

Leave a Reply

